Your browser is not supported. Please update it.
Stockwood Vale Golf Club
Back to Members

In addition to October 2016 being the 25th anniversary of the Stockwood Vale Golf Club, it was also the 20th anniversary of the Senior’s Section
The inaugural captain elected was Bob Winter, a lifelong employee of J. S. Fry’s of Keynsham.
His vice Captain was Bernard Campling who presided in office 1997 to October 1998.
Ted Cross was a founder member of the seniors section. He donated the cup we play for as the summer singles knock out, The Ted Cross Cup.

The first summer knock-out singles event in 1997 was won by Alan Cotterell who defeated Peter Usher!

Peter Ogden followed Bernard Campling Oct. 1999 to Oct 2000.
John Tantram a former main club captain presided for 2 years and led the team at the inaugural Somerset Bowl Trophy donated by Mendip Golf Club.
Sadly SVGC were defeated in the last match on 2nd extra hole.

Bernard Campling introduced the Senior’s stableford monthly competition on Wednesday 7th May 1997, which was won by Dave Christopher 22 handicap scoring 49 points off a gross score of 78!
The course at this time was just 9 holes.

John Tantram also oversaw the first Senior’s Open in 2001, the winner being our own entry Alan King of Keynsham!

Aerial photograph 1998

As we all know, Seniors are always up for anything free – bus passes, prescription fees etc.
During Paul Bishop’s year of captaincy the traditional free soup and roll day had to be cancelled before Xmas 2006 because of  horrendous weather.
Not to be outdone and under pressure from the Senior players, it was rescheduled for Jan 3rd the following year.
Paul is seen entering the somewhat late spirit of the occasion – checkout the scoreboard behind him, all done with felt tip pens then!!

Colin of Financial Services Group based in Stockwood Shopping Centre was the Seniors sponsor for the year


      Seniors Captains

1996R Winter
1997R Campling
1998J Gast
1999J Gast
2000P Ogden
2001J Tantram
2002J Tantram
2003J Glanville
2004J Glanville
2005M Gray
2006M Bushell
2007P Bishop
2008M Meissner
2009A Little
2010P Mumford
2011J Fry
2012M Walters
2013P Cheesley
2014A Gregg
2015B Clutterbuck
2016M Newell
2017D Bryant
2018R Cook
2019B Jenkins
2020C Hammond
2021A Pearce
2022L Cheal
2023T Davidson